Mobility Scooters

Registering your mobility scooter (DVLA)


There are three classifications of mobility scooters on the market today.

  • Class 1 – this includes wheelchairs that do not use any electrical mechanisms.
  • Class 2 – this includes powered wheelchairs and mobility scooters that have a top speed of 4mph. They are designed for pavements and paths and will not be heavier than 113kgs.
  • Class 3 – this includes electrically powered vehicles that can travel at more than 4mph but less than 8mph. They are suitable for driving on the road and on the pavement. Such scooters should have a device that can limit the top speed to 4mph while the user is riding on pavements or paths. 
The only type of mobility scooters that need registering are Class 3 scooters that can be driven on the road. 
When registering your scooter, individuals must fill out a V55/5 (2nd hand scooters) or V55/4 (brand new scooters). This form must be sent to your local DVLA office ( Similar information is also at hand in your local post office – just ask for the V100 information brochure. You must provide information regarding your scooter’s age and condition as well as official documentation with your name and address.
Class 3 scooters or powered wheelchairs must have a free tax disc on display and be sectioned in the ‘disabled’ licence class. Once registered with the DVLA, you will be prompted to renew your tax each year (at no cost to you). Those who have ceased use of their scooter must notify the DVLA and get a SORN – Statutory Off Road Notification. If you choose not to, you can be fined £80.

Useful Sites and Contact Numbers

DVLA Contact Information by Area

0870 243 0444  – Find your Nearest DVLA Office

0870 240 0010 – DVLA Enquiry Number



© 2022 Nationwide Mobility. Sitemap - Privacy Policy - Contact us

Mobility scooter and stair lift reviews & prices.